Third time wasn’t a charm.

February 3, 2008 at 11:54 pm (Eating Disorder, Happiness, Health, Randomness, Rants) (, , , , , , )

So on Thursday I went back to the doctor since the kidney infection hadn’t cleared up. She gave me a different antibiotic (Cipro) and told me to come back in a week for a follow up. We went and filled my prescription. I took the first two doses, and after that it all went downhill. I was up all night with severe vomiting and diarrhea. I was in so much pain. In the morning I called the doctor’s office and left a message. Unfortunately it was Friday, so I’ve had to wait too long to hear back from them. I’m now in severe pain all over, still having bad vomiting and abdominal pain, and I’m questioning whether I should still be taking the Cipro. I’m hoping to hear back from them in the morning (it’s Sunday night now.) I’m still having symptoms of the infection, so it may not even be working (or it hasn’t stayed in me long enough to absorb.) This story still hasn’t found an ending, but hopefully it will soon.

On the ED front, I’ve been too sick to be active in any behaviors. Can’t chew/spit, laxatives are pointless, eating is painful and pointless, and I honestly don’t usually feel well enough to worry about any of those right now. But when I was in therapy Wednesday we came up with a plan to cope. I’m going to check in with her by email Saturday mornings, keep track of whether I ate too much, too little, or healthy on a calendar (color-coded markings) and if I purged, and continuing to talk to recovery minded people. Too bad I haven’t been able to implement any of them yet, but I’m looking forward to getting the chance.

For the really cool stuff… Since we have the Delta vouchers from our funeral travels last summer, we’ve been trying to figure out what to do with them. My dad finally decided that he was going to take me to New England this summer for a week so I can do the big Family History Tour I’ve fantasized about for years. So we’re going to Boston, Plymouth, and Salem in Massachusetts (with a stop at Ft. Devens), Hampton New Hampshire, and possibly a couple places in Connecticut and Maine. Over the next couple weeks, our final itinerary should work out, then it’s just picking dates and making reservations!

2 Comments

  1. withlovebyli said,

    Oh no, that really doesn’t sound good. Hopefully you’ve managed to get into the doc’s today and if not, I really encourage going back to ER. For all you know, you’re having a severe allergic reaction to the Cipro.

    Traveling! Sweet. What I wouldn’t do to get out of this place right now. Temperatures feel like I’m living in the Arctic. Hold up, back track—what do you mean by “funeral travels”? o_O

  2. porcelain said,

    hii! u got a great blog!! i would like you to get a look at my new blog. (i have already one, but i made this with a friend, is quite new) and tell me what u think about it… i would keep coming to read urs!
    bye!!

    stay strong!

    xoxoxo!!

    PS. We would like if you can copy this chat room, we want it to be into much blogs as possible, ty

    http://2porcelainhearts.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

