My second ER trip and new ED problems

January 23, 2008 at 1:26 am (Eating Disorder, Health, Rants) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Yesterday I went in for a follow up at the doctor’s office. My pain had gotten worse, my left kidney had started hurting bad, and I was severely dehydrated. Guess what? I get sent BACK to the ER. Only three days after going there initially. The doctor had run the usual tests (needle hole three in my right arm) and I came up showing infection in my blood lab and blood and infection in my urine. So over to the emergency room she sends me. I had the quickest triage interview ever before they took me back to a tiny little room. Kenny was with me and I knew he wouldn’t be happy spending the better part of the day sitting around, but that’s what he gets for having a very unhealthy girlfriend. They immediately start IV fluids, which always sucks. But I’m used to needles. Anyway, they take their own specimens and send me over for a CT. Apparently I had crystals in my urine when I was there Friday (which they neglected to mention because the UTI was the bigger concern) but this time my urine there was fine, although it had been really bad only a few hours earlier. The only thing was ketones, which is nothing new for me. Anyway, my CT was clean (they wanted to check for kidney stones because of the pain and crystals in the urine) so they basically didn’t know what to tell me except to keep taking the antibiotics. And drink lots of fluids, even if they make me sick. I’ve been using the laxatives since Friday (doctor’s recommendation) and I’m concerned that could become problematic with the eating disorder. I know they only cause loss of water weight, but it’s not that. It’s that empty feeling they give me. And I know I’m hurting myself. I’m not sure how to explain it. It’s like with the diet pills. I know they’re both unhealthy and don’t work, but it’s all mental. Good thing I see the therapist later. Because I’m not doing too well. Hopefully my kidney infection will clear up, I won’t actually have kidney stones, and I’ll be able to stop the laxxies before I mess myself up even more.

5 Comments

  1. withlovebyli said,

    Oh no, infection in your blood! That sounds serious.

    And wtf! Why would a doctor encourage you to take laxatives? And with your history? What is he, stupid? This is all extremely worrying.

    Hospital staff are smart but they don’t have all the answers. Years ago my sister went into the ER for severe abdominal pain, they could figure out the problem so they sent her home advising her to drink pepto bismal! Later they found out she had stones in her gallbladder and she had to have surgery to remove them.

    Keep on top of it girl. I’m hoping for the best. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Love,

    Li

  2. Tanya said,

    Oh god, diet pills…how do those little pills and the highs and buzzes they give convince us to part with our money so easily? I hate the damn things but still take them sometimes. Go figure.

    Sorry to hear you’re so sick, and I hope you’re feeling better soon.

  3. alex said,

    I just hate how so many people only want to focus on the medical aspects of
    eating disorders. They’re MENTALLY ILLNESSES for Christs sakes! and i also
    am so burned out and SICK of doctors who only want to think you’re anorecic if
    you’re about to die and weigh next to nothing. It’s BULLSHIT and terribly DEPRESSES
    me. It’s SO UNNERVING how so many medical and mental health doctors can
    be SOOOO ignorant! All i can truly say is ONE MINUTE AT A TIME when you feel
    most hopeless inside and like nothing can make you feel better.

  4. Larry Austin said,

    Your issues with dehydration are actually an epidemic. When your doctor tells you to drink lots of fluids, they should be more specific. Water is the only fluid you should consider drinking for dehydration health concerns. Soda is a poison with its phosphoric acid, and is very dehydrating. Any fluid with sugar will not help you avoid dehydration. Consider that it will take eight glasses of water to replenish the water used to digest the sugar in just one soda. As a new resident of Las Vegas, NV, proper hydration has become a major concern of mine. And with this, I’ve been studying alkaline ionized water. Learning that disease thrives in an acid body environment, I’m hoping to avoid disease with a diet of alkaline water. The ionization of water is supposed to make water better hydrating.

  5. Lisa said,

    Happy Holidays! My name is Lisa Hope and I am the assistant editor of Disorder.org. I am contacting you today in hopes of developing a strategic partnership with your website; we have seen your site and think your content is great. Disorder.org is an online gateway for people to find information regarding disorder diagnosis, symptoms, and treatment — and is continually adding content. More specifically, Disorder.org is starting a campaign to promote awareness about eating disorders of all types. If you’re interested in a partnership, please contact me at lisa.disorder.org@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

