Size doesn’t matter.

December 30, 2007 at 3:41 am (Eating Disorder, Health, Rants) (, , , , , , )

And this post isn’t what you think. What I want to talk about is the ‘sickest’ game. You don’t have to have an emaciated BMI to be really sick. To have lifelong effects. For one, not every eating disorder makes the sufferer ‘skinny.’ Contrary to popular belief, bulimia usually doesn’t look scrawny. But everybody knows it is extremely dangerous. There are also binge-eating and compulsive overeating, which don’t tend to cause weight loss. Even with ‘restrictive eating,’ not everybody gets to extreme weights. That doesn’t mean they aren’t just as sick. You can have all the same health problems associated with that emaciated, feeding tube look without even being close. Please people… just remember that EDNOS (just a stupid diagnostic classification) is dangerous and deserves just as much treatment and understanding. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE BMI 17.5 OR BELOW TO BE VERY VERY SICK.

That said, I think I’m done blogging in the middle of the night. My thoughts don’t seem nearly as organized and coherent as they should be.

3 Comments

  1. withlovebyli said,

    You made complete sense. And you’re absolutely right.

  2. Cristina said,

    I remember being inpatient for Anorexia, and once it was time to get my blood drawn, my diagnosis would change depending on my week. One week my diagnosis would be Anorexia and the next week it’d be EDNOS. Basically, I was too “heavy” to be considered Anorexia… all because of my weight through re-feeding.

  3. heather said,

    very true.

Leave a Reply

