The most disgusting anorexia trigger ever.

November 18, 2007 at 7:37 am (Eating Disorder, Media, Rants) (, , , , , , , , , )

I’m not just talking about mannequins that are about half the size of normal humans. I’m talking about SKELETAL mannequins. Literally.

mannequin3.jpg

Thank you Macy’s. I don’t know if other stores have these bony ones (Macy’s is the only store I’ve ever seen THIS at) but this crosses a line. I hate that ‘oh mannequins are just supposed to be an abstract way of showing off clothing’ but when you stick protruding bones on them, they go from ‘abstract’ (I still just see major triggers since they’re in a human shape showing clothing I’m supposed to be trying to look that good in too) to downright sick and disgusting. Clearly the people who designed these, the people who thought they’d be perfect in the store for display… none of those people have EVER been touched by an eating disorder, have they? Because if they knew the hell people go through while looking like that (or working for that) they’d be just as disgusted as I am and I hope you are too. I’ve been brainstorming things to do. Maybe stand right by one at the store entrance and just hand out pamphlets about eating disorders? I don’t want to break laws, and if I get asked to leave, I will but I absolutely HAVE to do something about this. Enough lives have been lost and ruined because of that exact thing right up there. Join me in fighting this, please. For yourself, your sister, best friend, mother, daughter, girlfriend…

WE DON’T DESERVE TO FEEL THIS WAY!

28 Comments

  1.   The most disgusting anorexia trigger ever. by diet.MEDtrials.info said,

    […] continues at echo brought to you by diet.medtrials.info and […]

  2. MJ said,

    Are there women who eat healthily and are healthy with active lifestyle yet have such protuding bones?

  3. timethief said,

    I see an incredible contrast in our society. We all seem focused on anorexia and we are loathe to look at the whole truth. Anorexia is a terrible disease built on mental delusion: a disease that injures and kills.

    Obesity is also a terrible disease built on mental delusion. In fact, obesity injures and kills far more women than anorexia does and, it’s obesity that costs us all a fortune when it comes to health care dollars, not anorexia.

    We choose to fixate on the deluded minority and refuse to face the reality that obesity is the number one eating disorder in North America.

    On one hand, a passing glance at the statistics for obesity in adults and children is all most of us give the time of day to. On the other, we all decry anorexia and bulimia at the top of our lungs.

    Sadder still is the sexualization of young girls that many parents seem to be okay with. Surely we are as confused as confused can be when we see elementary school girls parading about in spaghetti strapped tops,muffin tops and low waisted jeans overflowing with fat rolls.

    I think we’re all mixed up and going the wrong direction when it comes to encouraging young people to establish good nutritional habits, regular exercise programs and high self esteem. And, until we begin to flap our gums as loudly about the “fat” majority of all those with eating disorders we remain hypocrites.

  4. timethief said,

    I apologize for leaving a strong tag open above. Please fix it.

  5. moraie said,

    You should remember that anorexia and obesity are BOTH eating disorders and they BOTH kill, although anorexia tends to end life at a younger aid. Obviously, stories of heart attacks occurring at younger and younger ages in children is disgusting. I’m not sure there is a need to separate one campaign from the other. Both groups are victims of low-self esteem. Those mannequins don’t help anyone with their self-esteem. Obese or not.

  6. MJ said,

    If a person is strong in self-esteem, those skeletal mannequins wouldn’t affect them. Those mannequins affect people with shaky self-esteem more than confident people.

  7. withlovebyli said,

    She’s talking about anorexia because it’s is a topic close to her heart and she has experienced/experiences personally. So take your obesity talk elsewhere! If she wants to take up arms and fight anorexia, then power to her.

    I can’t believe these mannequins have bones! That’s really is gross. Who made these things? They should have size 7 or 8 mannequins instead of size 0. I bet the clothes would sell better because it would target the average person and not the skeletal minority.

    Your idea of handing out ED pamphlets right next to the mannequins is bold, aggressive and proactive. I love it! Ooh, do you have a local ED clinic? here’s a suggestion: you could handout pamphlets from their program so anyone who grabs one and does have an ED, knows where to go for help.

    I disagree the user above me, MJ. It’s not about self-esteem but whether or not you have an eating disorder. To the healthy person, it’s just a mannequin. To the person with the ED, it’s a trigger or an inspiration to look like that.

    It took me a really long time not to get triggered by mannequins. I think the fact that you’re disgusted is a positive sign. It shows how much you’ve progressed. If you were standing there admiring them, then that’d still mean you were disordered. So, I’m proud of you girl! Hand out those pamphlets!

    Love,

    Li

  8. timethief said,

    @Li

    So take your obesity talk elsewhere!

    How astonishing that someone would tell me to take my comments elsewhere and terminate the post with “Love”. IMO your remark is not loving — it’s rude, combative and uncalled for.

    This blog is set for public viewing and if the blogger wishes to hear only supportive messages from her supporters then she can change the settings accordingly and create a “private” group. As she has not chosen do so then I have done nothing wrong by sharing my opinion as a comment on her post.

    Like moraie says: “I’m not sure there is a need to separate one campaign from the other. Both groups are victims of low-self esteem. Those mannequins don’t help anyone with their self-esteem.”

    IMO both anorexia and obesity are very serious dis-eases and focusing on just one and not the other doesn’t make much sense to me. What does make sense is lobbying Macy’s to replace the skeletal mannequins with mannequins that reflect a variety of physical forms and sizes that reflect healthy body weight.

    Lastly, take note that I live in a very small community where people with eating disorders, who fall into both groups, have come together and formed a group aimed at working together to re-establish their physical and mental health. I do volunteer work for this group and that is where I was coming from.

    Respectfully, TT

  9. mamavision said,

    Thanks for the post, Even the mannequins are anorexic these days, the size 0 jeans need to fit them you know. What a joke.

    You may enjoy the debates on similar topics on my blog, I stumbled upon your blog and I see we get fired up on the same topics.

    Take it easy!
    -mamaV

  10. Rachel said,

    We choose to fixate on the deluded minority and refuse to face the reality that obesity is the number one eating disorder in North America.

    You should remember that anorexia and obesity are BOTH eating disorders and they BOTH kill, although anorexia tends to end life at a younger aid.

    WRONG. This is so utterly, on -its-face wrong, disgusting, revolting and plain WRONG.

    Obesity is neither an eating disorder or a disease, and to say it is either only serves to undermine true eating disorders and reflects your own ignorance and prejudices.

    At their core, eating disorders are not about food or weight at all. They’re about the disordered relationships one has with food and weight. Food and weight are simply proxies for larger, more complex issues.

    Not all fat people have an eating disorder. Not all fat people eat compulsively and uncontrollably. Not all fat people have disordered relationships with either food or body image or have problems with self-esteem. Not to say that there aren’t fat people who do have disordered relationships with food or eating disorders, but you cannot make an overarching blanket statement declaring obesity to be a disease or an eating disorder. You simply can’t. It’s the equivalent of saying all black women are welfare queens.

    Obesity is not an indication of one’s diet or how much one does or does not exercise. If one’s weight were a simple matter of “choice,” then we’d be a nation full of thin people. There are scores of physically and mentally healthy people who are fat and who are genetically predispositioned to be fat. Just as with genetic variances with height and eye, hair and skin color, there is no one size fits all when it comes to what humans are intended to weigh.

    Furthermore, it has yet to be shown that obesity is to blame for the so-called health crisis of which you speak. If a thin person has a heart attack, it’s often attributed to family history or chalked up as a sad, tragic and unexpected incident. When a fat person has a heart attack, it’s almost always blamed on their fatness, regardless if fatness played a role in the heart attack or not.

    You might also want to familiarize yourself with recent studies and research that shows overweight is actually considered to be more optimally healthy than average or under-weight. Recent studies also disprove many of the health risks associated with fatness, including cancer and yes, even diabetes. In fact, fat people have been shown to live longer than thin people, and are more likely to survive cardiac events.

    I don’t fault you for parroting the obesity epidemic fear-mongering, though. Much of the research on obesity today is negative because it is funded by companies who have a vested financial interest in stigmatizing obesity, and even having it declared a disease. Dig deeper behind any so-called study on obesity and you will find big pharma- and weight-loss companies to be its primary funders. Conflict of interest? Indeed.

    The war against obesity and obese people is not only counterproductive, it serves to harm the very people it purports to help. And, even more tragically, as fatness continues to be stigmatized, we’re seeing the numbers of eating disorders rise dramatically and exponentially, as people resort to any means, no matter how drastic, to avoid becoming fat.

    Sadly, it is people like you who are unconsciously contributing to the rise in eating disorders.

  11. monsterkookies said,

    That’s absolutely wretched. Normal people don’t look like that – it sets wrong ideals for the people who have to see them.

  12. Limafan said,

    I’m a size six and my back looks like that so I don’t agree!

  13. Annie said,

    I think that this picture is horrible for girls and women who have already suffered or are struggleing with anorexia or bulemia. I think it only triggers more. I have suffered with anorexia for 6 years and I am still not recovered. We live in a society where being thin is beautifule and there is soo much more to a person than being thin. We focuse soo much on apperance that we forget about who we really are.My anorexia wasnt trigered by seeing thin women or pro anorexia websites or watching tv on eating disorder. I was just really extrememly depressed and still am. But this isnt any more positive. A person looking to become thin or anorexic is very confused and they have no idea what they are getting themselves into. I always saw myself wanting to be perfect at everything but then again my parents expected soo much out of me growing up. The perfect gymnast, and good at everything/. And I still wasnt accepted. So now I am 21 years old and I am still anorexic and go to outpactient therapy and soon to the hospital again. I really hope that we can oneday have a society where being thin isnt everything. There is soo much more to life than being thin. You do not want to be a wasted life.

  14. echo said,

    I hope you didn’t get the impression that I’m glorifying that picture because I’m not. It’s the opposite. I’m currently struggling through recovery and being in that store seeing that made me cry. So I decided I needed to vent about it. Because the store didn’t care about what I had to say. And I needed some validation that it’s not okay, because my family and friends just told me to get over it. I just don’t want people to misunderstand that I think eating disorders are just a game or whatever, because I’ve also lived this hell for years.

  15. BOBBY JOHNSON said,

    THIS IS THE MOST RETARDED THING IVE EVER READ

  16. Tory said,

    Obviously this is a specific body type. Yet what some people don’t realize is that it does not necessarily imply anorexia. That is what my back looks like when i bend my shoulders that way, and there is nothing I can do about that. I have always been skinny, and as a child, people made fun of me for it. So many of you people are blaming these images for people’s eating disorders, yet doesn’t that imply that you are just so weak that you let the media dictate how you live your life and how you feel? That is so sad.

  17. Kaija said,

    wow, that mannequin is gross. normal people aren’t supposed to look like that! i’m 18 and i was both anorexic and bulimic at a very young age. i started at 14. I’m up to a healthy weight and am still getting used to not being tiny anymore. i was told that my eating disorders were do to chemical imbalances and pictures or even props, like those mannequins, helped to make me spiral down even further. all i can say is don’t let other people tell you stuff like that is all caused by magazines and stuff like that because it isn’t.

  18. Walter Scott said,

    Hello.
    Am Mr.Walter Scott from Scott supply inch.I will like to know if you carry mannequins in your store?i want a large size of 2400 x 2400 px8.0″ x 8.0″ @ 300 DPI Do you carry that and what is the price for the women and the man? Also get back to me with the types and sizes of mannequins you carry and their prices as well.Thanks and waiting for your prompt responds.
    Regards
    Walter Scott

  19. calamito said,

    Umm, that’s a normal body shape for many women. I have no idea what you’re talking about – those mannequins aren’t skinny, they’re normal. I don’t know what you’re talking about.

    This was DUMB!!

  20. yeah said,

    you are not molded by the market, the market is molded by you.

    the mannequins reflect your idealized beauty.

    if they had not looked beautiful to the general population, after all, macey’s would not have erected them in the first place.

    business is not stupid. they pander. (look it up if you don’t know the meaning of pander).

    that’s how they make money. it all starts with you.

    don’t blame the mannequins; blame yourselves.

    handing out pamphlets next to a mannequin will only emphasize the unequivocal unpopularity of your opinion; it will emphasize dissonance between you and the mannequin (a metonymy for social perception), and they will subsequently shun you for it.

    if you want to raise awareness about anorexia, do it in its own context (health), and for the love of god don’t blame the market. the market is but a reflection of the desires and opinions of its constituents (i.e. YOU).

  21. yeah said,

    “And, until we begin to flap our gums as loudly about the “fat” majority of all those with eating disorders we remain hypocrites.”

    Well said, although I think the reason why people “flap their gums” louder for anorexia is because of its unnoticed proliferation among our youth.

    With that in mind, the loudness of the gums and the prevalence of the disorder will be inversely proportional until people are equally aware of both.

    The contradiction of your argument lies in the premise that people protest louder against a disorder that is more prevalent. That is clearly not the case.

    The lack of awareness of a disorder prompts more verbosity, not its degree of proliferation

  22. Chelsea said,

    I’m a size 2. There is nothing wrong with me. People are always talking about how being overweight makes you a target, but it’s not just a one way street. I’m picked on all the time for my size. I’m short and very skinny, but that’s just my shape. I’m always being called anorexic and tiny, and I hate it. Just because I’m small doesn’t mean I’m unhealthy. My back looks like that, and I’m perfectly normal. I see no problem with it.

  23. MootteEndeano said,

    Hi.
    I the new user.
    Wished to show to you,scandal

    http://shannendohertynude.cz.cc

  24. Steve said,

    Hey, if a rich cunt doesn’t want to eat, let her. I say fuck her. Only in this country would rich cocksuckers invent something like anorexia or bulemia or the word “obesity pandemic”. When there are those who dig through the garbage, you eat a nice meal and intentionally upchuck it.

  25. hazzerjazzer said,

    this is so wrong why would some want to look like that i mean honestly. but if they think its right they need to get but if some stupid person wants to look sooo retarded then let them. but please don’t do it you’ll kill yourself eventually. i think people who do this are stuck and need find something to do with their lives this is not it. DON’T BECOME ANOREXIC

  26. Staircase » Blog Archive » anorexia triggering pictures said,

    […] The most disgusting anorexia trigger ever. В« Overmedicated and … Nov 18, 2007 … The most disgusting anorexia trigger ever. by diet. …. to not being tiny anymore. i was told that my eating disorders were do to chemical imbalances and pictures or even props, … […]

  27. Cliff Duthie said,

    There is always in increasing trend in obesity these days as more and more people turn into a sedentary lifestyle.`

    Latest short article from our new online site
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/chia-seeds-side-effects/

  28. Jenette Paiva said,

    The researchers found that overweight children are 30 percent more likely than children of normal weight to suffer from three or more medical, mental or developmental problems; obese children are 200 percent more likely.,

    My blog site
    <.http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/krill-oil-reviews/

Leave a Reply

